PDA

View Full Version : 88 saltare carb?

wotan2525
06-13-2005, 02:24 AM
somewhere along the lifetime of my boat the carb was replaced with an edelbrock. The guy I purchased it from theorized that the smalled (650?) carb was put on to help with gas-usage. I'm doing some engine work and thinking of replacing the carb with something that will help it run the way it should. Right now my top speed is about 34, any faster and it just runs terribly.

Rob

OUI
06-13-2005, 11:36 AM
Sounds like your carb needs to be rebuilt - if you're looking for an original go to skidim.com and get a Holley 4160

Salty87
06-13-2005, 11:48 AM
i recently took my holley off and put a new edelbrock on, it runs great. the edelbrock's aren't nearly as complicated or as expensive. you might want to consider that. i have an 87 saltare and went with the edelbrock 1410 from jeg's.

i've been running with this carb for a few months and haven't had any problems or issues and am seeing the same power. i haven't run the numbers to see if i'm getting any more out of a tank than before with the holley.

06-13-2005, 12:38 PM
How does do your saltares run, guys?

Mine has an acme 541 and runs at a perfect wakeboard speed (22-23), but the top-end is really disappointing. 34 is about tops before the engine gets really icky sounding.

06-13-2005, 12:39 PM
Also.... is a marine carb necessary? It would be much easier to find a regular edelbrock carb for a 454 then have to go buy a marine carb.

Rob

wotan2525
06-13-2005, 12:49 PM
My posts as guest aren't showing up for me..... sorry if you guys are seeing these posts a few times now.

Posted by
Also.... is a marine carb necessary? It would be much easier to find a regular edelbrock carb for a 454 then have to go buy a marine carb.

Rob
Posted by
How does do your saltares run, guys?

Mine has an acme 541 and runs at a perfect wakeboard speed (22-23), but the top-end is really disappointing. 34 is about tops before the engine gets really icky sounding.

wotan2525