PDA

View Full Version : Recovering my dash and steering panels

suprasam
01-16-2012, 11:14 AM
I am wanting to cover my panels sometime within the next week or so. The covering that is on them now is starting to look pretty bad. I dont want to pay someone....because I am 95% sure I could do this. I have recovered boat seats in the past, so I am looking here for pointers from someone who has done these in the past. Do I just unscrew the panel, disconnect each guage (tach, speed, temp, gas) then pull panel out and start to recover? Here is a picture of what is there now to give you an idea of what I am getting myself into. Thanks for the help.

mapleleaf
01-16-2012, 11:18 AM
I've never done a dash before, but i did do my seats. I def got better as time went on, first couple are a little rough. I found that my heat gun on its low setting was my best friend when shaping the vinyl.....

TitanTn
01-16-2012, 06:02 PM
I had mine recovered last winter. I removed the two dash pieces and took them to the shop. I think the total charge was $80 including the material. Not too bad. I didn't want to tackle multiple sharp angles. Just unscrew the panels, and then you can either disconnect the gauges, or remove the mounting hardware for the gauges and leave them connected.

Here is my dash after the upholstery work:

http://unumemarketing.com/boat/dash.jpg

http://unumemarketing.com/boat/dash_closeup.jpg

SuperSaltAir
01-16-2012, 08:15 PM