PDA

View Full Version : Summerizing boat

Tribal 20
02-07-2012, 09:16 PM
This is my first year summerizing. How do you get the antifreeze out of the block? Thanks.

lively
02-07-2012, 10:29 PM
what ya got ?

Jetlink
02-07-2012, 10:40 PM
Also, more importantly...what type antifreeze did you use? RV antifreeze or auto antifreeze?

pap
02-07-2012, 10:46 PM
At least for my boat, as it was winterized with non-toxic marine safe stuff, I just put my boat in the water and start her up and I'm off for the summer. The antifreeze just flushes right through (and is safe for the lake)

tg0824SSVGG
02-07-2012, 11:23 PM
Who asks this in FEBRUARY, when my water is still solid to drive a car on, you just a serious planner, or are you teasing the rest of us? There is 15+ inches of snow on my boat at the moment ... sad ...

But - what kind of anti-freeze, and are all the block plugs back in the block, hoses connected etc? Who did the winterizing?

Jetlink
02-08-2012, 01:44 AM
We are planners...have to plan as all our weekends are getting taken up with wedding stuff leading up to the big day in May. As it is, tentative boat pick up is April 7th for us unless we get an unseasonably warm/early spring here. Already getting my stuff together for my exhaust overhaul I got planned to start the season off.

86 century
02-08-2012, 08:15 AM
Rest of the world isn't a mile high up!

Took this pic yesterday in GA. Granted, a little early for Feb. but no complaints here.

I don't think we get 15 inches in 15 years.

http://i740.photobucket.com/albums/xx49/ngavdba/beed1662.jpg

must be nice its snowing prety good right now.

Tribal 20
02-08-2012, 09:05 AM
Yeah. Sorry about that. 07 launch indmar engine. Used the pink marine stuff. It would be great to just put in the water and go. This is the first time weve used antifreeze. I figured that we needed to drain before putting in the lake. Thanks.

iwakeboard
02-08-2012, 09:09 AM
This thread makes me so happy.