PDA

View Full Version : Best replacement for the Kenwood headunit in 08 Supra 22 SSv

Kb11
03-27-2012, 11:54 AM
Hey guys,

Im new to supra's just curious what some of you replaced the KenWood headunit with. That thing is my only serious issue with the boat everything else is great. I wish they would have though about the driver more and installed a speaker in the cockpit but I can fix that pretty easy.

cigars n scotch
03-27-2012, 08:53 PM
I still have my stock Kenwood HU in my '08 21V but I BARELY ever use it. I always used my ipod or my phone through AUX, and now that I will be installing a ZLD then I really wont be using my head unit at all. You'll see that the model HU you have will go into "protect" mode quite a lot.

If I were to replace it I'd look for something that has bluetooth. I don't play CD's, I only stream. Some people dont use their HU's at all with the setups they have. a HU nowadays is really archaic, especially a CD player unit. It's really up to you as to what features are important to you and how much you want to spend. I've always been a fan of Crutchfield, so I get a lot of audio/stereo equipment from them.

tg0824SSVGG
05-18-2012, 03:16 PM
Did anyone ever figure this out? Like most others, I do use the iPod directly into the wetsounds ws-420 most of the time,
but I do use the head unit to play the satellite radio --

At the moment, the radio and CD part of my headunit works, but it will not switch into satellite or aux modes. I have hit the reset button, disconnected
from power -- all the other things suggested.

I want the satellite radio back - but I also want something that fits where they had the original driver remote without it being too "hacky"

The kts-mp400mr don't seem to be available anymore except for used on ebay -- no thanks I already have a used one.

CornRickey
05-19-2012, 12:27 AM