PDA

View Full Version : back from the dead (1987 sunsport)

project_sunsport
05-01-2012, 03:00 PM
Ok I have been lurking here for almost a year so I guess it's time for an introduction. Last summer I bought a very neglected and mistreated Sunsport. While I was doing My homework on restoring these old boats I found this forum. Right from the start I emailed Okieboarder with a ton of questions. I figured out real quick that the goal would be build it back better than it was originally. I had no experience with fiberglass , so the project went on hold for a while while I studied the process. I have made some progress since then so I thought I would start a thread , 9654and share some pics. It had been sitting for several years , so I had to get new tires before pulling it home. I was a little worried about the trailer , but I pulled it almost 200 miles without incident. 9655 Someone has robbed a few parts. I am in the market to replace those if any of You have them for sale. Warning : the following pictures may be disturbing to some veiwers !9656 Did I mention that it sat uncovered for several years?96579658

project_sunsport
05-01-2012, 03:14 PM
Here is a shot of the engine. Note the water standing , and remember that We did not have any rain here all summer. 9663That was some old water and lots of it.9659 All of You know how many hours of misery it takes to get to this point.96609661Look close You'll see the only fan of that soggy foam mess.9662

csuggs
05-01-2012, 03:15 PM
Well, you've got your work cut out for yourself! Welcome aboard! Keep us posted and let us know how we can help!

project_sunsport
05-01-2012, 03:23 PM
Thanks. I actually have the stringers in. I was in the process of putting the floor in when I ran out of resin. My last bucket of resin is supposed to arrive tomorrow. I'll get some current pics when I get a chance.

suprasam
05-01-2012, 03:52 PM