PDA

View Full Version : 91 SunSport runs rough after a couple of hours skiing, need some help

BryanL
06-30-2012, 09:57 PM
I'm new to the Supra forum, but from what I have read already, I can use some of your assistance.
I have a 91 SunSport. Bought it new and have babied it from day one. The engine has 1340 hours and I have done some work on it over the years. At the end of last season I had the PCM Protect system replaced with distributor, coil, new wires, etc, by an experienced shop that works on lots of inboards. First time out the engine ran rough, stumbled, sputtered at idle and stalled frequently. Took it back to the shop and they did a compression check, checked the timing, fuel pump, etc. Everything check out but the carb needed rebuilt. Had that done. Second time out ran good for about 30 minutes then started doing the same things again. This time the mechanic came out to the lake and ran it around with me and adjusted the carb while running it on one of their shop gas tanks. He suggested that I have the fuel pick up replaced, so we did that. He also thought that I might have some bad gas. Third time out under the load of a skier it ran great for about an hour then started to run rough, not as bad as before. Today we ran it for about two hours under the load of pulling skiers and it ran great until the end. From idle it stalled and then took a few cranks to get it started. Ran a little rough back to the dock. I noticed that it just didn't have the same "humph" as earlier in the day.

I know this is probably too much information, but I could use some help. Any ideas what the problem could be?

DAFF
06-30-2012, 11:38 PM