PDA

View Full Version : Tilt tube has a lot of play?

darkseal4
07-24-2012, 01:23 PM
Hey guys, long-time lurker, first-time poster, so please be easy on me!

I'm the proud owner of a 1985 supra marauder, I picked it up this spring for $2500 and felt like I got a pretty good deal, despite some pretty obvious and substantial rot In the floors and stringers. I've overcome some big hurdles so far (replaced transmission seals that were leaking bad, replaced a very damaged prop, swapped out a bad starter and replaced the starter relay) and am now in the process of replacing the original steermaster steering unit (cable snapped on the lake last weekend) with a new uflex rotary helm and cable from skidim. So far so good, but the tilt tube makes me nervous...

It seems to me like there's an awful lot of play between the tilt tube and the bracket that holds it in place. Is this typical, or am I missing a rubber bushing or something? I'm really new to all of this, but my gut tells me something's not right with it...

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!
I'll try to get pics up asap too!

cadunkle
07-24-2012, 02:45 PM
If you have substantial rot in the stringers you should be replacing them first, anything else you do now just means doing it twice. If it's that bad, you need to start from the bottom up.

darkseal4
07-24-2012, 03:11 PM
Completely valid point cadunkle, but while replacing the transmission seals I had the chance to look them over pretty well, and they're solid enough to let me finish out the season. I plan on redoing the stringers, foam, and floors this fall. No question I'm doing things a bit backwards, but hey, it's all in the name of having some fun on the lake! :) We just have a small window of opportunity up here in Maine, so I figured I'd tackle the big jobs once the snow flies.

sybrmike
07-25-2012, 07:00 PM