PDA

View Full Version : Loosing power under full throttle ..?

lively
09-04-2012, 01:50 PM
Well I have replaced the intake gaskets due to oil leak on rear valley and it has been running fine ..
At full throttle it sits at 4k rpm , but now it tends to act like it is not getting enough fuel or more of a dog out of
The hole ... All I have been doing is driving it so I'm just wondering if anyone has had that happen before .. Carb
Hasn't had a rebuild , but it still running good .. Timing is 9 ATDC so maybe retard ? ...
Thanks ,
Lively

chrisk
09-04-2012, 02:31 PM
Have the same issue going on in the thread "Poor Performing 351." Haven't had any responses recently so I'll be following your thread closely. I'm beginning to think carb rebuild but I'm far from an expert.

kreckley
09-05-2012, 10:18 AM
dog out of hole can be accel pump Think toooo much fuel also Rebuild on the carb on older boats with new seats (in carb) clean any buildup off floats goes a long way Wouldn't mess with time

SquamInboards
09-05-2012, 04:43 PM
I agree that a carb rebuild would be a great way to eliminate a whole mess of potential fuel/air mixture related issues. If you've recently replaced intake manifold gaskets, it's possible you introduced a tiny air leak somewhere, that's only causing a problem at high RPM. Double check that everything is torqued down correctly, just for kicks. Not likely, but again that's why if you can say for sure the carb is perfect, then you can start looking elsewhere.

I also agree with kreckley that if it was running fine and you didn't mess with timing, you shouldn't have to touch it, however, you shouldn't be 9 degrees ATC - more like 6 or 10 BTC with this motor. Are you sure it was ATC? If so, what RPM did you check it at?

crystal waters
09-07-2012, 12:12 PM
check your mixture adjustment on your carb---could be that simple.

lively
09-10-2012, 09:06 PM