PDA

View Full Version : 84 Rider questions

chris young
10-12-2012, 06:45 PM
Hi folks

I just bought a 1984 Rider (PCM) and the seller will be dropping it off at my cottage next weekend. I'm in the process of designing and building a cradle that will run on rails to the water for launch and retrieval.

The problem is this, the boat must be backed on to the cradle, which I'm pretty sure I can manage, but I'm worried that the speedo probes will be in the way. Do they retract? or am I going to have to get a measurement before I finalize the width of the bunks?

Also, I'm completely new to inboards, does anyone have any recommended reading? I'm skiing behind a new Nautique at my club so I'm around them enough, but it's new, and my boat isn't.

Thanks

Jetlink
10-12-2012, 07:14 PM
Am I understanding you correctly I. That you will not be driving the boat onto the cradle but having to back on to the cradle stern first? If so, good luck with that man, these boats are super precise going forwards...backing up, well that's a completely different animal. Mine backs up to the right no matter where the wheel is places, these boats either swing stern right or stern left depending on prop rotation and make for interesting dockings sometimes.

chris young
10-13-2012, 07:20 AM
Not backing in from the water side, just for being pulled off the trailer on delivery. It would be better to have the railway built and just launch the boat from the trailer and bring it to the cradle, but unfortunately that won't be possible for a number of reasons. I will have the cradle built and sitting on the shore section of track when the boat arrives, and I will be pulling the boat off the trailer and onto the cradle, stern first. Hence my question of whether you can fold the speedo sensors out of the way or not.

Once the boat is on the cradle, then whenever it is launched or retrieved the aft 4' of the boat will not be resting on the cradle, so the speedo sensors will not be an issue.