PDA

View Full Version : Wetsounds WS-420 Equilizer Option and Stereo Issues

mgerbos
04-08-2013, 11:39 AM
Hey Gang,

Just bought a 2008 21V a few months ago and just got it out of storage. Was pretty bummed to find out that when I turned on the stereo I could not get any sound out of any of the speakers. I am by no means an audio expert so I wasn't sure what the issue was as the stereo worked perfectly prior to putting the boat in storage. I took the boat back to the mechanic that winterized and stored the boat yesterday and he took a look at it. I remember at the time the boat was winterized he told me that I had a blown amp and asked me if I just wanted him to remove it and I said yes.

I think what happened is that they somehow disconnected the good amp while removing the bad amp. I believe that got the issue fixed I should know more today.

The whole reason why I started this thread is that I thought the Wetsounds WS-420 equilzer was missing. Now I am wondering if it was ever there or if I am somehow confusing it with one of the other boats I looked at right before buying the boat I did buy. So my question is was the Wetsounds WS-420 an option on the 2008 21V? Is there any way to tell if the boat did come with that equilizer? Thanks guys.

McDye
04-08-2013, 01:25 PM
Hey Gang,
So my question is was the Wetsounds WS-420 an option on the 2008 21V? Is there any way to tell if the boat did come with that equilizer? Thanks guys.

Not a factory option, it could have been a dealer addon.

Wylietunes
04-08-2013, 01:44 PM
As Mcdye stated, the WS-420 would not have been a factory SC option, but could have been installed by the dealer/stereo shop or by the previous owner. If it was done in a very custom manor, you would have a 1" x 7" hole where it was. if it was a basic install using the provided L bracket to secure it to the underside of the helm, then you would have 4 RCA cable sets and a wire power harness left dangling.