PDA

View Full Version : over night in h2o

trevor.walker
07-12-2006, 02:30 AM
Hey any advice on what to do when you keep your boat (89 conbrio classic) in the water anchored at shore over night. Yes this is my first boat and i am a total rookie. thank you.

DKJBama92Mariah
07-12-2006, 08:19 AM
Welcome to the board and to the water.

If you are tying off to a dock, make sure you have plenty of fenders between the boat and the dock. I would use 3. When you tie off, you don't want the lines too loose or too tight. You dont want the lines so tight that theyvkeep the boat from moving up and down with the waves, but you also dont want them so loose that the boat can get a running start and slam against the dock,

You have another option if you can find the right spot. You can put the boat at an angle between the shore and the dock tying the bow off to the dock and the stern to a tree on shore; just make sure its a sturdy tree.

If there isnt a dock, you can only get away with tying both ends to shore if the water is deep enough and you are up in a cove where there is a minimal possibility of waves crashing the boat into the shore.