PDA

View Full Version : Water in the bilge.... Hmmm

Peliades
05-29-2013, 07:27 PM
I just bought a 2006 launch 20 ssv and put her to work for the first time memorial weekend. It rained a ton in NY and I realized that my bilge pump disconnected after I trailered it home from Massachusetts. So after reconnecting my pump and evacuating over 50 gals I was ready to go. But after I returned the bilge pump kicked on again and pumped about 3 gals out again. This had me concerned. I've always owned a stern drive or outboard boat so I'm trying to temper my expectations of a v drive and rudder connection. So my question is...do you guys experience this "little" seepage during normal usage or should I think about replacing my shaft housing? Thoughts? Thanks! Peter

chris young
05-29-2013, 08:36 PM
Well, Peter, I'm new to all this as well, so for me it's only all the reading I've done here and my experience with the 2 Nautiques at the ski club.

Older packings will leak quite a bit, if I'm just hangin' at the dock at the ski school, about every 15 minutes or so, the bilge will pump out close to a litre of water. No doubt, those packings need to be replaced. If you buy the new style http://www.skidim.com/prodinfo.asp?number=GFO1/4X24 of packing and install it correctly they claim that they are virtually drip-less. I just ordered mine, I'll be putting it in as soon as I'm able, I'd like to leave my boat in the water for 2 or 3 weeks unattended and I'd like to know that it's not sitting on the bottom when I get back due to a bilge pump running continuously for 3 weeks and draining the battery.

Hopefully someone else who knows your boat a bit better can chime in.

Salty87
05-29-2013, 08:49 PM