PDA

View Full Version : Prop slipping, engine cutting out

tablerock
07-27-2013, 12:11 PM
Bought a 2006 24SSV Launch Gravity Games late last summer. Ran great until recently. After an hour or two of pulling/boating, if you go past half throttle it starts cutting out and will not hold RMPs. It always starts out great and then acts up. Not sure if it's fuel, transmission, or V Drive related. Any thoughts? I'm new to inboards & wake boarding boats. Love the boat!

8.1 Indmar - 450 hour
ZF 63 C Hurth trans
Walters V-Drive

trayson
07-29-2013, 11:11 AM
Bought a 2006 24SSV Launch Gravity Games late last summer. Ran great until recently. After an hour or two of pulling/boating, if you go past half throttle it starts cutting out and will not hold RMPs. It always starts out great and then acts up. Not sure if it's fuel, transmission, or V Drive related. Any thoughts? I'm new to inboards & wake boarding boats. Love the boat!

8.1 Indmar - 450 hour
ZF 63 C Hurth trans
Walters V-Drive
Basic question, but have you checked the fluid level in the tranny? Our tranny's only hold like 2 quarts of fluid and if you're low, that's BAD. And if it slips, that's REALLY bad because a rebuild can be needed easily and quickly just from a little bit of slipping. Ask me how I know. :-(

jzelt
07-29-2013, 12:34 PM
I would be inclined to change fuel filter.

tablerock
07-29-2013, 12:46 PM
Thanks. I have kept up the fluids in the motor and transmission. However, I didn't realize the v-drive also needs oil. I checked it and it wasn't registering on the dip stick. I put 3/4 of a quart of SAE 30 to get it to show up. I think it only holds a quart. So it was quite low. Still had same result although it seem to run longer before slipping.

I'm going to replace the fuel fiter on my next trip to the lake.

SquamInboards
07-30-2013, 08:35 AM