PDA

View Full Version : Public Service Announcement - Buying Supra From Canada

blazerman
10-01-2013, 08:01 PM
Now that summer is gone in the pacific nw (like someone flicked the switch), I thought I would share my experience getting my boat from canada to the states so nobody else gets to experience the drama I did.

I have been craving a comp for several years and waiting to find the right classic composite, crystal waters turned me on to a '94 for a good price in great condition aboot :cool: 6 hours away from me in Canada. I talked to the guy a bunch, got closeup pics, asked him if he had paperwork and took the leap of faith and headed up to get it, cash in hand. When I got there the boat was as expected, everything looked great and I was ready to pull the trigger. I ask for the title and he hands me the title - to the trailer. Turns out in Canada they don't do boat titles and there are no yearly licensing or tab requirements for boats. There are no pleasurecraft ownership transfer requirements in canada, just a one time registration transfer requirement that is largely unenforced and only about 8 years old. I call the local insurance office and ask about this and they confirm that bill of sale is all that is needed, everything looks to be on the up and up; I have no reason to believe this guys is bsing me, he owns the trailer and it clearly came with the boat.

I bite the bullet and hand over the cash and haul a$$ to the border sweating bullets the whole way. Get to the border, show them the trailer title and b.o.s and give them the story. Border guy checks trailer & boat ID numbers, sends me thru no prob! Now I think I am home free right? WRONG.