PDA

View Full Version : troubles setting top cap on my 86 sunsport

northern86sunsport
11-14-2013, 11:38 PM
Hey there Supra world!! I am new to this forum world, and a proud new owner of a one owner 86 sunsport!! Here is the real quick story: I used to be a service manager at my Dad's service shop in Ga. That was 13 years ago. I still feel confident, just need some specialty info. So, my Dad bought the boat on an insurance claim from a "lifer" customer. It sunk on his lift, not completely submerged. Actually only about 5 inches above top of floor. Turns out, the motor sunk into the stringers, wore out the shaft-log, and the rest is history. My dad had his guys gut it, and he started restoring it. Unfortunately, after a lung cancer scare, and a year later, a heart attack, his interest diminished, and the guy who kept tabs on everything I've ever owed him, gave me the boat!! But....I now live in MN, and he still lives in N. Ga. I flew down for 4 days to get it road ready. Goods: New beautiful, upholstery, new shaft, strong seal, carpet, rivets, covers, tires, lights, hoses, strong-seal, 3 and 4 blade prop, etc. etc. But get this..... THE ORIGINAL PAPER WORK AND MANUALS, including all service work!!! Bads: its 1400 miles away from me, it is in pieces, and the big one, my dad's guy put in new stringers, bulkhead and floor.........at too high of an elevation!!! When i tried setting the top down yesterday, it was obvious that the floor was too high. I improvised, and cut away the new floor, so that it would sit at the right elevation, but after we got the top fitted to the hull, the sides of the hull were 2 inches away from the line of the cap.. Is this normal? II didn't remove it, so I don't know. Any advice? i tried temporarily screwing the two pieces together, and don't know if its right, but still not sure. Long post! Sorry!!! Thanks!!!

biggsie
11-15-2013, 01:12 AM
Got any pics? Sounds like you mean the sides of the hull are too narrow?