PDA

View Full Version : Ballast 2007 Supra launch 20 SSV

Cyrus
04-07-2014, 02:28 PM
Hi There

I'm new to the boat world and just purchased a 2007 Supra Launch SSV. It came with at 1500lb ballast package. Looking for advice on what I can do to upgrade the ballast weight. I'm hoping I wouldn't have to put ballast bags on the seats but from what I seen it looks like that might not be possible. Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

Thanks
Greenhorn

kevkev
04-07-2014, 03:09 PM
I have the same boat. I run an 1100# bag in the surf side locker (removed my cooler). The bag doesn't fill all the way, but it gets pretty full. Run 400# in center locker full and IBS under front bow cushions full. I run the wakeplate about 75% up and 10.8 MPH. This allows me to surf without any human ballast in the boat.

Cyrus
04-08-2014, 10:21 AM
Thank you for the advice! The boat will be getting unwrapped for the season in the next couple weeks. Still ice out on the NH lakes. I will post some pics of my setup once I get the new ballast setup. Thanks again! Much appreciated.

Greenhorn

Zim
04-08-2014, 11:07 PM
I've got about the same boat as well. I can surf just fine with stock ballast full in center and surf side with some extra human ballast. This boat likes extra weight in the rear. I borrowed a 750lb bag from a buddy and put that half way on the seat/swim deck on the surf side and got a great wave with only a couple other people in the boat.

The guy surfing is factory 400lb bags in rear, with front full and 3 others in boat on surf side (1 being driver). The girl was with the extra 750lb bag with about 5 people in the boat. Definitely get some weight in the rear, then adjust and throw human ballast around towards the front to figure out length. I usually have wakeplate around the same as kev... anywhere from 50-75% up. Not sure on speed since my speedo is broke, but usually im around 2800-3000 RPM on PP with a 14.25x14.5 OJ prop (A must upgrade if you dont have it).

Cyrus