PDA

View Full Version : Prop

Cusefan78
08-11-2014, 05:52 PM
So all this prop talk got me thinking. I'm running a 4 blade 13x13 on my labrisa. Noticed a small bend on the very end of the prop this weekend. I'm not getting any vibrations or loss of Speed/ hole shot. I use my boat for skiing 90% of the time. I decided to get another prop and wanted to get everyone's advice on what to get. My plan is to send my old prop out to get repaired after I get a new one.

cadunkle
08-12-2014, 08:27 AM
Current max RPM and MPH would help as well as RPM at your typical ski speed along with any areas your not currently satisfied with the performance (want better hole shot, higher top speed, lower RPM at your usual speed, etc.). Your current pitch is in the ballpark of what should be good all around. You might consider going to a 3 blade if you primarily run at slalom speeds as it may get you a little better top speed or slightly less RPM at slalom speed with otherwise similar performance. I'm no prop expert though.

Cusefan78
08-12-2014, 09:26 AM
Top speed is 48 mph And that's at 4300 Rpms. Performance is great. Hole shot is good, plenty of torque. I always throught 3 blades would give you more top end but would lose on hole shot. Am I wrong? I like the performance I have now and don't want to get 50 mph boat and lose any hole shot.

Wulphie
08-12-2014, 06:07 PM
I am guessing you have a 1to1 trans, looks like about 9% prop slip if that speed is accurate. That is pretty good.

Check your prop slip numbers at say 2500 rpm, 3000 rpm and 3500 rpm

I am waiting on a 4 blade to try on my boat because my prop slip numbers are horrible in the mid range with the 3 blade I have.

Cusefan78
08-12-2014, 06:51 PM
Which three blade are you using. Nettles suggested an acme 541

Wulphie
08-13-2014, 06:24 AM