PDA

View Full Version : The dreaded question!

mlaosa
10-06-2014, 10:19 PM
Hey guys, I'm needing some opinions, feedback, experiences. My 91 conbrio is in need of a stringer job. I already pulled the engine/trans, ripped up the floor (cap on), and already removed 95% of the PITA foam. So......... Here's my question-- I'm a senior master ford technician and don't have any problems working on engines, transmissions, electrical ect., but I'm not exactly a natural carpenter. I have read most of you guys' stringer resto posts over and over again and has really been helpful and some of you make it look REAL easy!! My problem is that first, I will NOT be doing a cap off stringer replace mainly due to the fact that my homeowner assoc. doesn't even allow us to keep boats in the driveway longer than a few days at a time and also because below the bow area is solid. I'm concerned about getting the stringers bedded properly. Do I need to put spacers between hull and stringers to prevent hard spots? If so what do I use? Another thing that bothers me is getting the engine mounting portion of the stringers set at the right height. The fiberglass work doesn't bother me. I got a quote here in Austin for around 3k just for the stringers. I don't mind doing the floors and carpet. Guess what I'm asking is how hard is it to get the stringers bedded, shaped correctly to the curvature of the hull? I know this topic has been gone over time and time again, but I guess just need some reinforcement. This is my 4th supra, just haven't tackled a stringer resto yet. Thanks in advance for any input!

jasun
10-07-2014, 08:25 AM
These are good questions. As far as bedding the stringers, I used quarter-inch pink Styrofoam insulation pieces to space mine. I used thickened polyester resin as my bedding material.