PDA

View Full Version : Just bought a 2007 Launch 21V with factory ballast. Upgrades needed to wakesurf?

cbm4ua
07-29-2015, 04:01 PM
I'm a new Supra owner. Just bought an '07 Launch 21V with factory ballast (400lb bags or each side in the back and a 600lb bag in the front center). My family (me, the wife and 2 kids) are hoping that we can learn to wakesurf behind this boat. I know I probably need to increase the amount of ballast, but after reading some of the posts on this forum it seems like folks are putting like 2500lbs or more of ballast in their 21Vs to wakesurf. Given that I'm new to the wakeboard boating scene I was wondering are there any risks or concerns with putting this much ballast in the boat when the boat is only rated for 1750lbs?

Pic of my new boat is attached.

wotan2525
07-29-2015, 04:52 PM
Beautiful boat and welcome to the board!

The reason that water ballast doesn't count against your "rating" is because water ballast is neutral. If you fill a bag and throw it into the water, it doesn't sink.

I believe that you will struggle to surf with your factory setup. Others with 21Vs may chime in on their setups and what works but I think every boat and every surfer has different preferences. I'd start by getting the biggest sack that you can that will fit inside your rear hatch. It's probably a 750 but it might be able to almost fit the 1100. The more the better. Fill up that sack and then try and surf. If the wave seems too steep, add weight to the front. It can help to have an experienced surfer to help you dial it in.... if you've never surfed before you're in for many hours of wondering if the problem is the wake or your ability level. It's mostly your ability level once you get some weight in that corner.) Bringing out additional human ballast can help you "tune" the wave and makes it much easier to move 150-250lbs around at a time and see how it effects the wake shape.