PDA

View Full Version : please help me setup my new toy

charlies86supra
07-08-2007, 12:47 AM
hi all! i recently purchased and restored an 86 comp. (pics coming soon) i love it so far but... im new to inboards and i was expecting a smaller wake, can you guys please help me get the setup right on this boat! im running minimal gear in the boat, and the wake plate is running true with the bottom. seems like alot of you like running it a little down?! like i said im new to inboards but not boats, so i do need a little help. how far out should i be skiing and at what speed. thanks all in advance for your help!! thanks, charlie

vintner
07-08-2007, 09:43 PM
I'm surprised to find that you think the wake is too much. I'm guessing you're on a slalom sk??? My opinion is that 28 MPH is a good start then give the driver the thumbs up or thumbs down with what you feel comfortable with. I've always skied with 15' off of a standard 75' rope.

I have seen that most people put their wake plate 1/4 of an inch below the bottom of the boat. That's where mine is. I have often considered letting it up a bit. Here's why. If you ski behind a Ski Natique (or my old American Skier) you have a bit of a rooster in the middle that dissipates into nothing. The rooster is sort of high but is very aereated (sp??) and you slip right throug it. A MasterCraft has a bit of a table and a v forms after it. This is very similar to what the Supra does from what I've seen. I've oftern wondered if you raised the wake plate a bit if it would be more of a rooster. Maybe someone else here has tried it. I can ski behind either type of wake if my form stays true, they're just different but I think I prefer the first to the second.

Congrats on the boat. You've got a great machine. Just work on the skiing. Take a lesson somewhere. Watch some good videos. Go to www.schnitzskis.com for some tips and some ideas on good videos to watch.

Dinoz
07-09-2007, 07:11 PM
Hey Charlie,