PDA

View Full Version : Intake manifold question

DMAC5197
05-31-2016, 06:22 PM
I have a supra la brisa with the pcm 5.8 HO I am looking to add some ponies to it as well as switch to a 4 blade prop. I was wondering if I can just start buying 351w parts for cars, such as the intake manifold and bolt it on. Or are there specific marine parts ? I'm new to boating so any help is appreciated.

michael hunter
05-31-2016, 06:29 PM
Are you looking for top end speed or low end dig out of the hole. I think a prop will get you the most bang for your buck . Try Acme or Delta they are loaded with information about props.

DMAC5197
05-31-2016, 07:38 PM
Top end I guess. My boat pulls ok I just feel like it's too speed (40mph) is on the slow side.
Also I will make a new thread if need be but what's the reccomendation for bringing back the hull to glossy finish. I have some oxidation and ghost stickers I need to address.

michael hunter
06-01-2016, 07:26 AM
The boat you have has a displacement hull design much like a barge it was never designed to go fast . You can get a few more MPH with some bolt on modifications but I doubt it will be worth the effort. If you are looking for real speed like 50 MPH that will come at a high cost . I have some CorrectCraft buddy's that compete with each other for top speed . They are at the 50-55 MPH but have sunk thousands into their boats. Bottom line if you want speed get a deep V with an IO. If you want the best pulling boat on the water stay with your Direct Drive, Just maintain it and make it reliable it already has all the HP you need.

SquamInboards
06-01-2016, 09:37 AM