PDA

View Full Version : Fuel light stays on, gauge working 87 Comp ts6m. PCM 351W stock heads. 240HP?

Hidden Hearth
06-15-2016, 06:17 PM
Hi guys,

I'm a newbie, just purchased an 87 comp ts6m. I'm working on a plan to fix some things.

1). Fuel light stays on, gauge works. How is it wired and what should I check first? Is there a secondary float in the tank or one float and two sensors? Is this difficult to access?

2). Temperature gauge doesn't register. Engine runs fine but I want this fixed ASAP. I assume I should ground the probe wire and this should peg the gauge. If the gauge is ok do the sensors go bad? where do I source? Is there a good way to test all the idiot lights. Is there a manual that explains the logic and wiring of these lights.

3). Engine has been running without a thermostat. I have a new 143 degree on order. Anything I should be aware of. Would the gauge register without a thermostat in 60 degree water? I have read all the posts on engine cooling and they are a huge help. Thanks!

4). New DUI ignition/ignition wires/plugs. I have the distributor and wires on order. Which plugs should I use? Should I gap to .055? Where is the best place to run the power wire to? Does the existing tach wire run to the old distributor?

5). Prop is original. New Acme 543 on order. Also ordered puller and new hardware.