PDA

View Full Version : Hello all. NEWB here with 05 24SSV

BADS24SSV
08-02-2016, 08:10 AM
Hello fellow Supra owners. Just picked up a 24SSV and wanted to join a forum to gain info and share my experiences.

I have a 2005 24SSV with 496HO 450HP. Has 530hrs on the hull and under 300 on the motor. So far enjoying it very much and fixing the little issues here and there to make even better. I live in the NW burbs of Chicago. I like to wakeboard and surf. I am a novice but hope to gain quickly now that I have a better tool to get there.

Thanks!

MJHKnox
08-02-2016, 09:52 AM
Welcome. You will find a lot of info here. Don't be afraid to ask questions, everyone started at some point in time.
Most of my friends from Chicago spend their lake time in WI or MI.

BADS24SSV
08-02-2016, 10:35 AM
I spend most of my time on the Chain 'O' Lakes but also frequent Lake Geneva. I will go anywhere there is enough water to launch though. The Fox river also has a couple launches near me that my friends and I will go to for a quick run. Much less traffic so great boarding.

gogger
08-02-2016, 02:05 PM
Any idea why the engine has been replaced?

BADS24SSV
08-02-2016, 02:41 PM
Any idea why the engine has been replaced?

Looks like I have your sister boat...Red with black accent.

1st owner did not winterize properly and cracked the block.

Since you seem to have same motor, what is your idle at? Mine is at 775ish. The spec manuals I have found for this engine call out 650. No idea why it is so high.

gogger
08-02-2016, 10:36 PM
Mine idles a little higher also. I just installed a new 8.1 that was rebuilt by Indmar over the last week. I will let you know what it is idling at when I take it out tomorrow. What I have learned is that GM stopped producing that engine in 2010 because it didn't fit their green platform. The 496 uses some oil. So I will be sure to check it daily. And if I am out for a long time I will check it every couple hours.