PDA

View Full Version : First trip out in my 89 Comp

tazman7
05-11-2008, 10:10 PM
I took the boat that I just bought out for the first time this weekend to just run in around the lake to kinda get the feel for the new boat I just got a couple of weekends ago.

When I test drove it, it got hot (200 degrees) and the guy said that the thermostat was stuck, so I got a 143 degree thermostat for it which I was told to get by some people on wakeboarder.com

So I filled it up with fuel and a bottle of seafoam on my way to the lake to help clean out the carb...(I put this stuff in everything i own, it works great)

I back it in the water and it doesnt want to start. So I crank and crank and crank on it..pump the throttle a couple of times and still nothing...by this time i am getting a little pissed/worried that I might have got a lemon... so i let it sit about 5 minutes and try again, still nothing. I find some starting fluid in the boat and give it a shot of that (even though I hate using starting fluid, we were an hour and a half away at our cottage and wasnt about to drive home without driving my boat) So it finally started. So I let it warm up at the launch for about 5 minutes and take off.. it climbs from 140 degrees up to about 185 so i back off of it and turn around and start heading for the launch..well it cooled back down to 145ish so i just putted around for a few minutes and lifted the engine cover and felt the engine and it wasnt to hot. (dont know what this told me but only thing i could think of)

So i took back off again and the same thing, so i just started cruising at about 25 and it stayed at about 160 then. So then i just drove around for about an hour and it seemed to start running pretty good. So I turned it off and let it sit then restarted it and it started fine...