PDA

View Full Version : 1982 Supra Mariah leaks

davebloom
07-14-2020, 03:09 AM
I am new to boating and have a 1992 boat that seems to have a consistent slow leak in the middle of the hull. Not quite sure where to look or how to look for it as the engine compartment is only so big. Any suggestions? Do I dry dock at and fix the fins?

michael hunter
07-14-2020, 08:03 AM
Are you sure its not the prop shaft packing? They are supposed to leak a few drops per minute to lubricate the packing.

cadunkle
07-14-2020, 08:47 PM
It could also be the rudder port, earlier models have a packing gland but a 1992 probably has o-rings. I had to remove and reseal my swim platform brackets a few years ago, at least one was leaking. There's only a few places water can leak in these boats. I also tighten all coolant hose clamps every spring when getting the boat ready. Never had one leak but I try to stay on top of preventative.

davebloom
07-14-2020, 10:55 PM
Are you sure its not the prop shaft packing? They are supposed to leak a few drops per minute to lubricate the packing.

Nope it’s not that. I also found a couple leaks around the engine mounts and took care of those as well. It’s definitely coming from the front part of the boat and when I turn the bilge pump on when I first leave the dock it’ll run for a couple minutes with a solid strain

davebloom
07-14-2020, 10:57 PM
Do these boats have fins / rudders in the bottom of them or some type of protruding pieces of steel that help with the turn on the boat? The other day I pumped out all the water and I took towels and dried out the whole area and then I sat and watched to see where the water was coming from. It’s coming from towards the metal or in front of the engine compartment area.

cadunkle
07-15-2020, 05:56 PM