PDA

View Full Version : Rudder off center on Supra

FoiltechLaunch21V
08-13-2008, 09:57 PM
Just wondering why the rudder on the Supra boats is off center to the right. I'm sure there is a reason, just curious.

DKJBama92Mariah
08-13-2008, 11:06 PM
Just wondering why the rudder on the Supra boats is off center to the right. I'm sure there is a reason, just curious.

I'm not precisely sure on that one. There are two reasons that pop out to me though.
1) So you can pull the shaft without removing the rudder

2) To somehow counteract prop torque (not real sure on that one though)

Water Dog
08-14-2008, 11:18 AM
I'm no engineer, but I play one on tv.
I'm going to go with prop torque here, just seems logical when thinking about the null in the center of the prop under load and the direction of prop rotation. I know too many engineers, they always look at performance vs. being easy on the mechanic, but I do like the pulling the shaft idea, but I think that was just a random lucky draw...

rludtke
08-18-2008, 11:07 PM
Yep, the rudder is off-set to counteract torque and what aerodynamicists refer to as P-factor (as an aero guy, I am unaware of the term for the hydronamic equivelant). P-factor is the result of the spiral airstream off of the propellor, and it's effects upon the airframe. Essentially, P-factor amplifies tourque effects. Designers off-set the vertical stabilizers on single engine propellor driven ariplanes for the same reason.

Have you aver noticed how when you are accelerating, you need to maintain pressure on the steering wheel to keep the boat strait? If left to it's own devices (at least this is true with my 1987 Ts6m, modern boats may have designed this tendancy out) the rudder wants to deflect and the boat wants to turn. This is illustrates the tourque/P-factor effects remaining even after off-setting the rudder.

cocheese
08-19-2008, 01:21 PM