PDA

View Full Version : 87 TS6M COMP Restoration

rickr
11-02-2008, 08:04 PM
I have had request for info on my 87 TS6M COMP restoration.
Here is a link to the project on Boatdesign Forum http://www.boatdesign.net/forums/fiberglass-composite-boat-building/ski-boat-stringer-sole-replacement-20668.html

I bought the COMP last year for my wife on our anniversary. "The Boss" is uncomfortable driving my speed boat due to its monster engine w/poor idle. We wanted a good light boat that was easy to tow, fun to drive and a good swim/cruising platform to use on the lakes in East Tennessee. In my younger days I was an avid skier and spent a lot of time with Supras, Correct Crafts and Mastercrafts.

This particular Comp had 675 hours (that are probably original) new unholstery and a good trailer. I bought the boat knowing it had rotten floor, was very heavy in the water and had cowl shake. I assumed she needed stringers also.

Although I am an experienced mechanic, I AM A NOVICE with this project so if some of the more experienced repair guys have better ways of doing things please chme in.

Nov 07 when we picked up the boat, you can see she sits low in the water.

rickr
11-02-2008, 08:11 PM
I spoke with some friends in the boating business and the Supra plant manager (late 80s) and was told to do the repair correctly the deck had to be pulled.
SOOOO I pulled the deck. Then I removed trailer wheels and braced trailer to floor and hull to trailer with a few dozen 4x4s.
TOOK A LOT OF PICTURES AND MEASURMENTS!

rickr
11-02-2008, 08:16 PM
Next I pulled the floor (sole) to inspect the damage. About 25% of the stringers and cross members were rotten and most all of the foam was saturated with water.

rickr
11-02-2008, 08:22 PM
I used a crow bar, air chisel with blood sweat and tears to get the foam out.
The wet foam weighed over 200#s

rickr
11-02-2008, 08:29 PM
I found the best way to cut stringers out was with a "Sawzall"