PDA

View Full Version : 03 supra launch injection problem

buck337
12-26-2008, 06:06 PM
I have an 03 supra launch with an indmar 350 tbi. Under about 3\4 throttle the engine surges and hesitates, and under full throttle engine bogs down badly. A friend and i removed the spark arrestor and watched the injectors. When the engine surges, the left injector fires erratically and the right injector sprays fine. If we swap the connectors on the injectors the right side sprays erratically and the left side sprays fine. Under full throttle both injectors spray the same but dont seem to spray as much as they should under wot. The fuel filter has been replaced with no change in condition. Any help would be greatly appreciated. We also checked fuel pressure and it holds steady at 30 psi.

DKJBama92Mariah
12-26-2008, 11:49 PM
Happy Holidays and welcome to the forum Buck.

I'm no expert of Indmar TBI systems but I'll do what I can and maybe one of the other members can chime in with more specific answers.

First, One question: When you tested the fuel pressure, did you test it at idle or while underway with the engine acting up? Having rock solid fuel pressure while under load with the engine acting up pretty much eliminates fuel flow as the potential cause. On the other hand, rock solid fuel pressure at idle tells us very little other than that the fuel pump is actually working.

Does the boat have a check engine light and if so, is it on?

It could also be going into "limp home" mode if it has one. I'm not sure if your model has one or not. Check the engine user manual that should have come with the boat. Does it work fine under 2k RPM?

buck337
12-27-2008, 08:57 AM
The fuel pressure is steady at idle and all the way through the rpm range,even under load. The boat doesnt have a check engine light and all gauges shows no signs of problems.

buck337
01-31-2009, 12:44 PM
Any one have any ideas?

myturndad
02-04-2009, 12:43 PM