PDA

View Full Version : 2nd bilge issue (conbrio)

mapleleaf
01-20-2009, 11:30 PM
I have only the switch # 1 bilge hooked up and working, purchased this way, would like to put # 2 back into service, but since it's stowed with the battery I don't know where it originally went. The working bilge now is in the center of the boat.
I'm still learning....

michael hunter
01-21-2009, 12:29 AM
My 89 Sunsport only had one in the middle of the boat.
It has two switches but only one pump.
I have owned since new and I know its never had two.

rickr
01-21-2009, 02:42 AM
I am trying to figure out mine also. I am going to set up one switch for "ON" and one for "AUTO" on the small pump.

My large pump will be hardwired to the battery switch, so it will be "AUTO" all the time.

mapleleaf
01-21-2009, 04:07 PM
I think I like the hardwire idea, my boat will be in a hoist, but people get forgetful. So the small pump pick's up what the large one won't and is set up with a float as well???
I guess the original system was set up with a large and a small set of pumps, or was the one pump wired to 2 switch's like the Sunsport??

rickr
01-21-2009, 05:51 PM
Our boat came with one small Atwood pump. I am not sure how it was wired. I started restoring the boat right after we bought it.

I will wire mine with the SMALL pump taking the main load (dash switches) and the BIG pump as backup, both with float switches. I expect to take a few waves over the bow and stern ;)

mapleleaf
01-21-2009, 06:32 PM
yeah, upside to the conbrio open bow, downside to the conbrio, open bow water chute!!
So you're bypassing your main power disconnect for the large pump and going straight to the battery?? Does the negative then get grounded or does it have to go to the neg post on the battery?
By the way that's some really good look'in work on your comp...

Salty87
01-22-2009, 10:11 AM
saltare's only came with 1 pump....do you guys have 2 thru-hulls too? where's the second one?