PDA

View Full Version : Need some help

86Pirata454
02-17-2009, 09:40 PM
Ok, so I am looking into a 87 Supra Pirata with a 454. It has 600 or so hours and new floors, he said the stringers were good when they did the floors and the carpet. He says the neutral safety switch is bypassed and the speedo doesnt work. What else should I look at when I go look? Are any of these things hard fixes? I know the general concept of this particular boat because my uncle used to have one just it was about 8 years ago. SO any help would be great

mapleleaf
02-17-2009, 09:51 PM
Things I'm learning about my 19 year old Supra.... Pull up a few seat cushions, snoop around everywhere. Are you taking it for a test drive??? Do all the switches in the dash seem ok??? How about that removable section of floor behind the motor, I'd want to look in there with a flashlight towards the transom, cracked fiberglass, mounting plates, etc....
It's a long list and I'm just learning, you could do a compression test on the motor, though 600 hours is decent I think for a boat that age. I'd basically look for anything that looks worked on or show's signs of leaking/rot. Digging around in this forum you should find some answers....
Good Luck hope, it works out....one way or another

86Pirata454
02-17-2009, 10:17 PM
ok do you have a picture of this piece that comes out of the floor? I dont remember it from the old one

mapleleaf
02-17-2009, 10:34 PM