PDA

View Full Version : My trailer sucks!

jonyb
04-30-2009, 11:21 PM
I've had problems with my BoatMate trailer since day one. It's nearly impossible to load. If it's too far in the water, you stuff the bow under the stop. If it's too high, you can't power on without pushing the truck uphill. I've been boating for at least 4 years before anyone says something like that.

The Boat Buddy was destroyed within teh first year of owning my boat. The pin would release, then when the truck pulls up, the bow eye pulls against the pin bending it. Getting the pin loose was a 10-minute job.

I also have a bunk that has some bent brackets. They're pushed forward and to me, don't look like they're built very well.

Remember, I have a 24SSV Gravity Games. It's VERY heavy.

I spoke with someone at Boat Mate about these issues and after sending pics we decided that I need to lower the bolt in the bowstop so it wouldn't pick the boat up, or I wouldn't have to pull on so far. That day finally came. I worked on it today. I drilled 2 new holes lower and to the rear of the trailer, but the metal of the bowstop forks is so bent up, it looks awful, and it's still a bitch to load. I think it just needs to be rebuilt.

After working all day on that, then taking a short boat ride, we came back to load the boat up. When my friend was walking to the truck, he turned around and said "park it". The bunk with bent brackets had broken off and was laying sideways across the trailer. 1 lag screw was holding it on. I found some more screws and tried to fix it, but where the brackets were bent, the bolts were pulled out. I ended up having to move the bunk a 1/4" forward and make new holes.

Finally got all that done in between rainstorms, and loaded the boat. I had bought a brand new Boat Buddy II and installed it today. AFter the second time loading the boat, it's already starting to get screwed up. That hard rubber pressing against the gelcoat just doesn't work out.