PDA

View Full Version : Need advice/opinions on re-do

novice
05-08-2009, 10:30 AM
I am new to the boating world and have been "lurking" on the forum, gathering information, since I decided to take on a project boat......purchased an 89 Supra Saltare at the end of last season.
I took it around to a couple of boat upholsterers in the area and received quotes in the 5K range.....the last one to see it told me I should do the job myself and she would walk me through it. She has done boat work for years and is currently booked through September but available for consultation.
With 4 teenage boys home for the summer (all but one unemployed) we decided to use the 5K to pay them to assist in the refurbishing.

My question today is:
How true to the original boat do I need to be? The original upholstery was gray with black piping. The boat is black on the bottom and gray on the top and interior. Should I reupholster in the same colors or can I "update" with white upholstery and gray piping?

I'll get one of the teenagers to take pictures and upload them if that will help ;)

Salty87
05-08-2009, 10:41 AM
hi novice, great to see a lurker posting

i can't wait to update the vinyl in my saltare. i've spoken with a few upholsterers too. the best advice i have is to use larger pieces of vinyl and fewer seams. you'll end up with an updated look but you'll also end up with stronger seats...the seams are usually the weak point.

i recently changed the carpet in mine from blue to grey. it's so much plusher too. so i'd say update it as much as you want as long as it doesn't clash. i think these old supra's are still stylish and only get dated looking from the graphics. no point in putting old school looking upholstery back in.

pics are always great

saltare inverts
05-08-2009, 06:39 PM