PDA

View Full Version : De-winterizing Questions?

87SunSportMikeyD
05-20-2009, 01:41 PM
Hey guys I am THIS CLOSE to getting back on the water for the season. Hoping to drop her in this weekend. This is my first time dewinterizing this boat and I want to check a few more things to be sure all is in order.
I winterized it last fall with my dad. We just drained the block and hoses, added antifreeze, and stablizer to gas.

-I am planning on changing the engine oil and filter.
-Check the trans oil and possibly change.
-Check the impeller (where do i access this?) and lube it (looking for more info)
-Charge batteries

Any other tips? Newb question I know

michael hunter
05-20-2009, 09:48 PM
Mikey
The impeller should be in the belt driven pump on the drivers side front of the engine.
Follow the hose down from the thermostat . Remove the pump split it the impeller is inside
note mark the two halves and put an arrow pointing up to help in reinstalling it car be put on upside down. Do all you mentioned in your post put a bucket under the exhaust to catch the antifreeze and run it on a water hose.

mapleleaf
05-21-2009, 09:42 PM
I'm think'in the same, I'll be hooked up to the hose this weekend, any perticular lube for the impeller????

michael hunter
05-22-2009, 09:52 AM
I just put a light coating of vas o leen on the inside of the housing just to get over the dry start.

87SunSportMikeyD
05-22-2009, 11:39 AM
Do I have to remove pullies to do this?

I went last night to drain my oil. The boat has the oil drain line which I stuck through one of the drain holes. Should've warmed the engine first because it was SO SLOW! Have to go back tonight to finish up and put her in hopefully.

Found a couple pics

http://www.wakesiderides.com/forums/uploads/post-5-1104621496.jpg

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f281/critterCQB/IMG_1065.jpg

mapleleaf
05-22-2009, 03:00 PM