PDA

View Full Version : Help! should I buy this boat?

wannabeskier
06-16-2009, 08:01 PM
Hello,

This is my first time on the site and it appears to me that there are a lot of great people with a lot of valuable information.

I was just approached by a coworker who has a friend that is going through a divorce and needs cash so he is going to sell his Supra.

I went for a ride in the boat today and here's how I would describe it....

1990 ts comp (20ft) (not exactly sure on the name)
650hrs on boat but completely rebuilt 350 engine with 10 hours.
hull in great shape--not too many scratches
interior is a disaster--no rotting but all the vinyl needs to be replaced and it needs a new drivers seat.
carpet needs replacing
tach and speedos don't work
nice stereo system with an amp
hot water shower and heater
decent single axle trailer
little bit of vibration--may need new prop
great power-hole shot

What do you think I should pay for this boat based on the info above.
Note-my coworker is a mechanic and says the rebuilt engine is great.

Thanks for any help and hopefully I'll be a fellow supra owner.

87SunSportMikeyD
06-16-2009, 08:11 PM
hey there wbs! Welcome.

First things first, what do you want to USE the boat for? If you are mostly skiing, you are on the right track. If you want to mostly wakeboard, you might want to consider a SunSport or Saltare.

Right off the bat I am suspicuous of the condition of the stringers. If the interior is shot, and the carpet, why would the floor and stringers not be shot? This could also cause the vibration. Check the motor mounts and look under/behind the rear bench seat to be sure. Look at the prop, if there is not visable damage, it may not be the prop.

If the stringers are bad I would offer him 3-5k. If they are good, 5-6k. It's no super deal to jump on, but doesn't look like something to walk away from either. The market is good as a buyer now and older Supras are fairly common. Gotta know if you ski or board tho.

Montgomery