PDA

View Full Version : Wakeboarding speed/best wake

Fman
07-31-2009, 10:17 PM
What speed do you guys wakeboard at? I filled the 750 lb rears up this morning and was at 21 mph in glass and the ramp was incredible. I had no whitewash on the wave, it looked and felt sweet! I had the wakeplate at 1/2 setting. I have noticed the left wake struggles to get ramped more than the right side (drivers). Does anyone else notice this? I am riding a 144 CWb Faction and weigh 195 lbs.

One problem is my kids are boarding at much slower speeds, 13-17 mph and I cant seem to get a nice wave for them. Anyone have any ideas? Also wanted to hear what other people are wakeboarding at speed wise, ballast setup and wakeplate settings. I am new to the sport this year, at 21 MPH I seem to have a nice wave to jump off.

Thanks.....

saltare inverts
07-31-2009, 10:36 PM
Anyone new or novice pull them at 17 to 18. I ride at 23 and my wife rides at about 24.5. She likes it faster because she came from a slalom background. Anyone over 200 lbs I tend to pull at no less than 21mph.

jonyb
07-31-2009, 10:45 PM
My speedo says 23-24 at 70' when i ride, but that's not correct and I haven't verified it with GPS. I've also been riding with no ballast. I've got 3 herniated discs so riding is a little tougher these days.

csuggs
08-01-2009, 06:39 AM
Anyone new or novice pull them at 17 to 18. I ride at 23 and my wife rides at about 24.5. She likes it faster because she came from a slalom background. Anyone over 200 lbs I tend to pull at no less than 21mph.

Dittos here. Except for the part about the wife, of course - mine rides at about 21. Some of the guys I pull faster, but it also depends on the board, surface area, etc. My sons and their friends seem to like to ride between 20 and 22. I think every boat is a little different depending on the wake . . .

mapleleaf
08-01-2009, 07:12 AM