PDA

View Full Version : 88 saltare 454

69nova454
08-04-2009, 07:54 AM
I am an auto tech 30yrs .I just bought a saltare from a customer and my problem is it idles ok and will run awsome for a minute then it just dies out like it runs out of fuel,usually will fire right up but wont go over 2k rpm I replaced fuel pump and filters. thought I found the problem ,the push rod fpr pump was seized ,we got it out and freed ,but still tha same? Any Idea's Also rebuilt carb,it wasnt all that dirty though

agetech
08-04-2009, 08:20 AM
Still sounds like fuel starvation, clogged fuel line, fuel pump check valve. Try an electric fuel pump for troubleshooting, maybe you have one laying around.
Check the advance weights in the distributer for the acceleration problem.

wotan2525
08-04-2009, 11:30 AM
I am an auto tech 30yrs .I just bought a saltare from a customer and my problem is it idles ok and will run awsome for a minute then it just dies out like it runs out of fuel,usually will fire right up but wont go over 2k rpm I replaced fuel pump and filters. thought I found the problem ,the push rod fpr pump was seized ,we got it out and freed ,but still tha same? Any Idea's Also rebuilt carb,it wasnt all that dirty though

I was just wondering this weekend as I had my engine out -- did these engines have a mechanical fuel pump originally? Mine just has a block-off plate on the spot where it should be and an in-line electric fuel pump that seems to work great.

Did you also check/replace the fuel water seperator? Have you tried disconnecting the tank and running it from a fresh (known good) tank of gas? I'm a little suspicious of how the fuel lines were run in mine from the factory and could easily see them being pinched or kinked.

69nova454
08-04-2009, 12:46 PM
I have an electric pump I will try this weekend . Also anyone ever remove the flame arresters on the exhaust (I am a child of the 70's and want the big block thunder )

wotan2525
08-04-2009, 01:36 PM