PDA

View Full Version : Thermostat Question

tomelenbaas
10-06-2009, 03:04 PM
I was servicing my boat ('88 Mariah - Ford small block) and discovered there is currently no thermostat installed. I have no idea when or by whom it was removed, but it has to be at least 4 years ago since I've been doing all the routine maintenance for the past several years. I generally run the boat in warmer waters (70 degrees plus) and have noticed no problems associated with the missing thermostat. How essential is it?

BTW - the only cooling issue I notice is that when the engine is shut off it heats up to about 200 degrees, but immediately cools down once the engine is started. The normal operating temperature is 160 degrees.

Thanks.

wotan2525
10-06-2009, 04:13 PM
I was servicing my boat ('88 Mariah - Ford small block) and discovered there is currently no thermostat installed. I have no idea when or by whom it was removed, but it has to be at least 4 years ago since I've been doing all the routine maintenance for the past several years. I generally run the boat in warmer waters (70 degrees plus) and have noticed no problems associated with the missing thermostat. How essential is it?

BTW - the only cooling issue I notice is that when the engine is shut off it heats up to about 200 degrees, but immediately cools down once the engine is started. The normal operating temperature is 160 degrees.

Thanks.