PDA

View Full Version : Do I need to winterize my boat?

MoneyMaker
10-14-2009, 05:15 PM
Newbie here. I can't believe I've had my Supra for 3 years and never thought to look for a site like this. Anyway, I from Utah but moved to Las Vegas this year and am wondering if it is necessary for me to winterize my boat in this warmer climate?

jaywidhalm
10-14-2009, 07:27 PM
As long as it does not drop below freezing consistently, or a real deep freeze, you would not need to pull plugs, drain the block, pull hoses, etc. If it is not going to be used you will just want to make sure the engine is flushed with fresh water, make sure everything is dry, and use a fuel stabilizer for the gas. Not a bad idea to fog the engine either, but I typically don't do this. It's always a good idea to get your engine oil changed at the end of the season too.

Fman
10-15-2009, 02:18 AM
As long as it does not drop below freezing consistently, or a real deep freeze, you would not need to pull plugs, drain the block, pull hoses, etc. If it is not going to be used you will just want to make sure the engine is flushed with fresh water, make sure everything is dry, and use a fuel stabilizer for the gas. Not a bad idea to fog the engine either, but I typically don't do this. It's always a good idea to get your engine oil changed at the end of the season too.

If it is going to sit for more than a month, I would at least drain the block, exhaust and impeller housing. Standing water in the cooling system is not a good thing. I would also NOT recommend fogging the motor, this can clog the fuel injectors. As Jay mentioned, Sta-bil is good for the fuel system. Works really well to start putting it in your fuel about a month before the end of the season so it is mixed in to the engines fuel system.