PDA

View Full Version : 87 Sunsport

thsmith10
04-14-2010, 08:35 PM
Here are the first pics of my boat I've had for a few years but never got around to getting it cleaned up. I am starting with wet sanding the red, and buffing and polishing the white. I am also removing the rainbow sticker and replacing with a new solid red wide pinstripe and a new logo. After that the plan is to patch and repair all chips and cracks on the underside and fix a leak that fills up the bildge after a while

Interior wise, keeping it simple this year with a simple radio and speaker replacement. Problem with the rear speakers is a shallow mounting depth. I purchased some cheap 2-1/2" mounting depth speakers that are just a tad too big. Thinking of buying a speaker spacer ring but can't find one in white. All of the teak has also been removed, sanded, and oiled. This is my first time reworking the teak so I am not sure if I like the straight oil or will eventually go with the oil/sealer. Would also like to install a wake board tower but have a hard time finding one that I think looks good with the boat.

My worry is that after I get the exterior done this spring, I am going to really want to put in new upholstery. After reading this board, I am not sure if I am ready to even think about stringers or not yet. If I get new vinyl inside, I assume I will be able to salvage everything if we had to rip out the carpet and floor to replace stringers eventually.

DGREEN
04-15-2010, 01:12 AM
Great work thsmith10! The boat is looking great. What a difference a good amount of elbow grease can do! I have an 87 Sunsport as well, such sweet boats. I've been working like crazy on it and I have to update my thread!! Anyways, your boat is looking sweet and just remember.....one task at a time, thats what I keep reminding myself!

87SunSportMikeyD
04-15-2010, 11:31 AM