PDA

View Full Version : Ballast questions

Mani
04-28-2010, 02:43 PM
I have a 1986 Sunsport with the 351w. I plan on wakesurfing this summer, and only have one Launch Pad brand 440 lbs sac.

I plan on getting a tsunami pump, and I've been eyeballin' the 1000 lbs. fly high surfing sac (L shaped) along with a bunch of accessories, but don't know anything about this stuff as I have never done it before.

I need to know what fitting to buy to make this all work, and I'm wondering if the 1000 lbs. sac is a worthwhile investment, or if it's too much for my boat. Anyone with a similar boat, I would like to know what your set up is.

Thanks!

http://i632.photobucket.com/albums/uu49/Jeepthing0708/2010-04-28133218.jpg
http://i632.photobucket.com/albums/uu49/Jeepthing0708/2010-04-28133207.jpg

kodybyron
04-28-2010, 04:46 PM
just getting into ballast systems my self...but id say you have the old water bed fittings like me...screw on screw off. right guys?

Mani
04-28-2010, 04:53 PM
Well I'm starting to figure the fittings out the more I research them, but still don't know jack about weighting the boat, the max weight ratings, etc. My info plate on the hull is illegible, if it even is an info plate.

sybrmike
04-28-2010, 10:19 PM
Check out WakeMikey's EXTENSIVE thread. Same boat I think & everything you ever wanted to know about wakesurfing but were afraid to ask.

jzelt
04-29-2010, 12:35 PM
As far as illegible plate, you could try taking a piece of paper, holding it over the plate and then taking a pencile and rub it on the paper entirely. Maybe then the lettering would pull on to the none colored side...

Mani
04-29-2010, 02:24 PM
I'll give it my best shot when the hull gets back to me. Thanks!

87SunSportMikeyD
04-29-2010, 03:50 PM
Thanks sybermike :)

Mani good luck! the surf wave rules on this boat.

For starters I would ask if you are planning on plumbing in ballast eventually, or if you just want to keep it very basic for now.