PDA

View Full Version : Boat driving license in USA

OneCent
05-06-2010, 07:38 AM
Hi

I'm from switzerland and my brother in law just started to make the swiss boat driving license. That means to learn the theory for a test (60 questions, and max 4 can be wrong) and to prepare for the practice test - thats about 10-15 lessons a 45 minutes (costs are around 90$ per 45min) and ends with a test where you have to proof that you know all the maneuvers. You need the motor boat license if you have more then 6kW.

How is that in the states?

Cheers, OneCent

iwakeboard
05-06-2010, 07:50 AM
I think it varies by state, but in Tennessee a license isn't required at all unless you're under...I want to say 14? There are "Boater Safety Courses" available but they're just available, not required. Unless I've been doing it wrong for 6 years :D

michael hunter
05-06-2010, 08:20 AM
Its generally a free for all here. That's why there are so many wally's without a clue out on the water. I have heard it cost a lot and takes months to get a drivers licence in Germany.
We need to require training here but that seems extreme.

tg0824SSVGG
05-06-2010, 08:27 AM
Several states have started requiring licenses and fees this year for sure. I know North Carolina now has a requirement for drivers of any age.

Much of this, in my opinion, is another way to raise money during the hard times ...

From another forum I monitor:

New North Carolina Boating Law, effective 5-1-2010

Who May Operate a Vessel - Effective May 1, 2010

A person younger than 26 years old may operate a vessel with a motor of 10 horsepower or greater on North Carolina waters only if he or she:

* Completes and passes a boating safety course that is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and accepted by the Wildlife Resources Commission or…
* Is accompanied on board by and under the direct supervision of a person who is at least 26 years old or…