PDA

View Full Version : My 7 year old got up on his 1st pull....BUT

sc_beerbarge
06-09-2010, 11:04 AM
If the board gets behind him when he's in the water after falling he really struggles to get it back in front of him. Any easy technique to teach for the kids to get turned back around? I'm a noob myself.

Overall, great day at the lake. Gotta love the week days.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v719/308gtsi/IMG00094-20100607-1223.jpg

Fman
06-09-2010, 11:52 AM
Congrats to your son! My 7 year old started last year, what speed are you towing him at? I tow my 7 year old at 15-16 mph, and shorten the rope up at about 60', this makes it nice because they are a little closer to the boat and when they start jumping they will get a better wake. Its near impossible to get a clean wake at 16 mph, but having the shorter rope length puts them in a better place in the wake.

It took my son a few times to figure out how to flip the board around after falling, having him tuck and roll seemed to help him out. My son was also using a 134 which is a large board for his size, but it gets him up easy and is more foregiving when they ride.

sc_beerbarge
06-09-2010, 02:21 PM
Congrats to your son! My 7 year old started last year, what speed are you towing him at? I tow my 7 year old at 15-16 mph, and shorten the rope up at about 60', this makes it nice because they are a little closer to the boat and when they start jumping they will get a better wake. Its near impossible to get a clean wake at 16 mph, but having the shorter rope length puts them in a better place in the wake.

It took my son a few times to figure out how to flip the board around after falling, having him tuck and roll seemed to help him out. My son was also using a 134 which is a large board for his size, but it gets him up easy and is more foregiving when they ride.