PDA

View Full Version : Drain Plugs on a 92 Comp & Bildge Question

blackout00
06-21-2010, 08:50 AM
I know that the boat has a plug in the center that I believe is brass. I am going to be taking my boat out of the water next weekend and wanted to dry the bilge out and wanted to make sure that I get all the plugs out. This is my first time with a boat of this style so just do not want to miss anything :)

Also, I was curious about how often others bilge pumps come on in a boat like this? Please note, my boat is stored on the water. I know I will always have some water in the bilge, but it seems like it gets to be a little more when I do a longer, higher speed run...Is this normal? I very rarely get the auto bilge to come on, unless it is very choppy and we have a run from a far part of the lake. However, when skiing or surfing I am probably just anal about it and hit the bilge every hour or so. I also am going to check my shaft packing and see if the nut may need adjusted. Any thoughts or recommendations are greatly apperciated.

gtbrault
06-21-2010, 09:25 AM
Don't know about the bilge question but on my 89 Comp I've got another drain plug at the rear of the boat - just above the trim plate.

blackout00
06-21-2010, 09:36 AM
Ok...So it is on the rear of the boat...Right or left side?

Mani
06-21-2010, 09:39 AM
dead center, just above the wake plate.

blackout00
06-21-2010, 09:52 AM
So right under the swim platform? Sorry...Just have not looked that closely...Thanks!

Mani
06-21-2010, 11:39 AM
Yes, under the swim platform, at the bottom of the transom, dead center, above the wakeplate. It's the same location on pretty much every boat.

Hope that helps. :D

gtbrault
06-21-2010, 01:44 PM
It's easier to get to with the swim platform off. Might need to use an open end wrench - mine's a 9/16 I believe.

blackout00
06-21-2010, 04:32 PM
Great. Thanks for the help!

jet
06-21-2010, 11:24 PM