PDA

View Full Version : PCM 1:23:1 tranny oil AGAIN

Memmer99
06-28-2010, 02:33 PM
I ended up changing my tranny oil with Dexron 6. It said meets or exceeds Dex 3 so I figured what the heck. A friend of mine has a 92 Nautique with the same tranny and he was recommended Dex/Merc and told me to get the dex 6 out of there ASAP.

What do you guys think?

Hematoma
06-28-2010, 02:42 PM
I ended up changing my tranny oil with Dexron 6. It said meets or exceeds Dex 3 so I figured what the heck. A friend of mine has a 92 Nautique with the same tranny and he was recommended Dex/Merc and told me to get the dex 6 out of there ASAP.

What do you guys think?
I'm not an expert by no means but I did mine 2 weeks ago and used the Vavoline Dex/Merc. The parts guy said it is what you want if it calls for Dexron. I asked him if I could use the Dexron 6 and he said no way? Just a heads up.

Memmer99
06-28-2010, 04:41 PM
Shoot, thats what I was afraid of. I've already put about 15 hours on it with the Dexron 6. Hope I can change it a few time and it will be okay.

docdrs
06-28-2010, 06:29 PM
yes you can use dexron VI.....GM wants it used on all tranny's that previously used dexron III. It is far superior to dexron III and any warranty work performed on gm trannys that don't use dexron VI will be voided. there is a TSB from GM on this that many don't know about

dexron VI is supposed to be new and improved dexron III. GM TSB states that current and prior automatic transmission models that had used DEXRON III must now only use DEXRON VI
oil film thickness increased by 20%
foam /aeration improved 150%
shear stability improved 200 %
fluid oxidation improved 100%

Hematoma
06-28-2010, 07:44 PM