PDA

View Full Version : Opinion On Stereo

Rusty Griswold
07-15-2010, 03:04 PM
opinion on Stereo System

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

OK, I see some speaker talk and I am not an expert but love music. So here is what I was thinking. I have a 06 24ssv with the stock kenwood system. Amp sub with interior speakers and tower speakers. I was thinking this.
In this order will my sound improve if I go either partial or all the way.

1. replace interior speakers
2. replace stereo. I am wanting a Ipod jack
3 replace amp
4. replace sub
5. replace tower speakers ( I still like the look and size. I have speaker sox on )

Thanks for the input

jonyb
07-15-2010, 05:26 PM
I replied in your other thread, but it would be better if you'd reply here. I didn't see this post first.

KY Steve
07-15-2010, 05:30 PM
Same boat same year and just finished part of my stereo upgrade on a pretty low budget, but by no means am I an expert.

1) Stock interior speakers suck, I plan to replace them with Wet Sounds next year, model depends on budget at that time.

2) If you have the Kenwood head unit you can buy an ipod adapter for it. I bought the WS420 and just hook my satellite radio/mp3 directly to it bypassing the head unit. The WS420 is definitely worth the money!.

3) I kept the stock Kenwood amp for my interiors and added a second amp for the sub and towers, much louder now.

4) plan to replace sub next year.

5) I installed Kicker KM6200 in the stock Roswell bar, lower cost and sound good with new amp. You do need to redrill mounting holes.

Again, not quite the system of others on this site but a huge improvement from stock. Here is a link to the thread with pics.

https://forum.supraboats.com/showthread.php?t=6708

wakejmpr
07-15-2010, 05:58 PM