PDA

View Full Version : Looking for somewhere to ski

OLDSCHOOL85
07-21-2010, 10:59 AM
Im new to the Houston area and im trying to find somwhere to ski. If anyone is familiar with the Houston Texas area I need help. I would like to find somewhere between here and College Station. But I am open to all suggestions...

sybrmike
07-21-2010, 06:28 PM
Welcome to H-town.

Not a lot of pretty water around here, but for NW Houston-College Station I'd recommend Lake Sommerville up near Brenham. Undeveloped shores with several nice parks, 30 minutes W of Aggieland and 1-1/2 hours from Houston (depending where in H town you are). Usually not too crowded & can find some protected shoreline depending on the wind. The western end is usually best - Rocky Creek area if wind from the S and Birch Creek if it's from the North.

Lake Conroe is 45 minutes north of Houston. Bigger than Sommerville, but completely developed & bulkheaded shoreline south of the 1097 bridge. Great party scene, but be careful - they patrol pretty heavy. Gets crowded & rough on the weekends (watch out for 30'+ triple engine idiots). Best bet are the first 3 coves north of 1097 on the western shore, but be careful of stumps anywhere N of 1097 (just watch the boat lanes until you're familiar).

I've lost the link, but there's a wakeboard club outta Houston that seems real friendly - try a search here or google. I'm currently boatless with the rebuild, but good luck & maybe we can share some water...

OLDSCHOOL85
07-22-2010, 08:29 AM
Awesome, I appreciate all of the help. I'll probably head out to Somerville this weekend. Last weekend I took her out to the San Bernard river in Lake Jackson. Awesome water, very wide, and not a whole lot of boats. If you can get over the fact that its brackish water, its a great place to go. It wasnt hardly salty at all when I went. Just run your boat on a water hose when you get home.

sybrmike
07-28-2010, 10:14 AM