PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Supra Sunsport Questions

tshirtdeal
07-23-2010, 12:02 PM
Hi guys and gals,

I am a total newbie to all this, just learning you can wakesurf without a tow rope.. I am an old school surfer who had to leave the waters many years ago and the addiction has never left me, now live on a nice lake and HAVE to get involved in this.

Unfortunately the economy has beaten me up real bad, but trying to get an old Supra Sunsport. I always wanted a boat but know zero, zilch and nada about them at all...

I found an 86 Sunsport for 3K with trailer, the guy says there is no floor rot but he does not know what stringers are.... Is it possible to get a boat like this for 3k that will not have tons of problems? What are the major problems I can run into as well as costs? Can you get years of problem free boating/wakesuring from these old boats or are they usually money pits and tons of work?

Also, can someone please tell me what questions I should ask this guy? I am already talking to him but need to drive 10 hours to see/test drive... so I would like to assure it is even worth it for me.

Boat is in the water, runs and he says in good shape for how old it is, he is using it and has been...

Thanks for any help, I gotta do this even if I take out an equity loan on my house :)

Okie Boarder
07-23-2010, 12:37 PM
Definitely find out more about the condition and how it runs. Have him send tons of pictures and even a video clip or two.

You want to know that the engine is in good shape and he maintained it well. Ask him about compression, how smooth it runs, how often he has done maintenance, etc.

When you go to look at it, you will want to check the condition of the stringers so you know what you're dealing with. The stringers could be ready for replacement now or down the road, but it will be inevitable, so it's good to understand what kind of timeframe you would be looking at.

tshirtdeal
07-23-2010, 03:12 PM
Thanks Okie... appreciate it...