PDA

View Full Version : Rudder support repair on Newbie's 86 Rider

Kma4444
09-13-2010, 05:39 PM
Hey all, I am a friend of Newbie Girl on here and I have been helping her with her new acquisition. It's a beautiful 86 SunSport Rider, great boat that she's really enjoyed.

It had a leak that was from the rudder area, where it came through the floor, not the actual rudder shaft. The previous owner had thought he had fixed the area with some epoxy, evidently applied from under the boat.

I took the boat home and pulled the rudder assembly out and cleaned out the old sealer and resealed it into the hull. New O-rings in the bearing housing and carried it back to the lake.

It worked perfectly for a day that included a long ride. Late that day she went skiing and came back in with a lot of water in the boat. On inspection, the rudder assembly was loose in the hull, not good and took it out for the weekend.

I brought it back and these pics will show what I found and how I fixed it.

Got the gas tank out and it all looked like this.

http://i526.photobucket.com/albums/cc341/kma4444/Maxine/Rudderbefore.jpg

After a little cleaning;

http://i526.photobucket.com/albums/cc341/kma4444/Maxine/Rudderclean.jpg

Kma4444
09-13-2010, 05:44 PM
She got the boat knowing it was gonna need a floor and most likely stringer repair but the summer has too much time left in it to wait so she needed her all mended up.

What's not obvious in this pic is that the rear of the fibreglass cap over the core material is cut away around the drain plug area exposing the wood core. It also doesn't show that the cap is not bonded to the transom at all.

This pic shows it a little better.

http://i526.photobucket.com/albums/cc341/kma4444/Maxine/Glassremoved.jpg

And this one.

http://i526.photobucket.com/albums/cc341/kma4444/Maxine/Glassandwood.jpg