PDA

View Full Version : new to supras and need some help

jsandy
12-07-2010, 12:28 AM
so here it is. i'm josey and live in florence al on wilson lake, so i've always been on the water and around boats and actualy build hotrods for a living, anyways i got into wakeboarding last year goin out on my neighbors 1990prostar190. granted i'm not that good just now getting confident wake to wake. but have my own board and really enjoy it. so i have been saving for over a year and have wanted my own small wake/ski boat for a few years and now am finally goin to bite the bullet and buy one. now being a starving college student i have only been able to save around 5 grand. so i have found 2 boats close that are in my range. 1. 89 ts6m new interior, clean boat with 580 hrs but with no add ons. 2. 89 comp new interior,wake tower,6 speakers but with 1200 hours. so i will be adding a tower nomatter what that is why the 2nd is really cathing my eye. would the extra hours bother you? any suggestions as to what to look for would be great. i know the stingers and floors to check for rot and both boats are 351, and am actually in the process of helping a friend rebuild a 351 in an 84 2001.

LloydP
12-07-2010, 08:22 AM
1200 hours is definitely not a lot for an '89. The general consensus is that these engines should go for close to 2000s before needing any kind of major rebuild. You would probably want to have the compression checked, but my guess is that you are already on that!

Be careful...this will be a gateway boat!! Before you know it you will be moving up the ladder to something bigger and more expensive :)

Good luck!

jsandy
12-07-2010, 08:47 AM
yes my compression test kit will be goin with me to when i go look at them. and i want this to be my gateway boat, figured that i could pic one of the older classic supras up, play with it and improve it for a season or 3 and turn around and sale it for what i have in it.

87SunSportMikeyD
12-07-2010, 12:15 PM