PDA

View Full Version : How Does this 91 Comp Look?

02-11-2011, 01:05 PM
I am new to supras and ski boats in general. grew up with bayliner runabouts. found this supra at a price i can handle figured i would ask for opinions here. i plan on wakevoarding and skiing and relxing all day o the lake in the summer so idk if i should g for a ski boat or just put a tower on a runabout?

http://springfield.craigslist.org/boa/2205000207.html

87SunSportMikeyD
02-11-2011, 02:41 PM
Supras are great for what you're looking for but if you want to wakeboard you should keep your eyes pealed for a SunSport or Saltare. They are much roomier and open bow as well for similar price. Wood floors so make sure you look closely. Get the engine compression tested.

02-11-2011, 02:49 PM
i called and he said there is one palms size soft spot a few feet in front of the engine and it does have an open bow. the thing with this one is it is at a price i can afford w/o needing too much work. he also sent me more pics and it looks pretty good. also any idea what this would weigh? he thought about 2000lbs its a 20 footer

polarbill1999
02-11-2011, 02:53 PM
That boat looks pretty neglected to me. I think that boat in near mint condition is only worth 5-7k. The comp has really, really low freeboard, especially at the bow and stern. With an open bow in that boat you would have to be pretty careful with no weight. Add some ballast and that boat could downright scary. Also that boat wont throw a very good wakeboard wake no matter how much ballast you put in it. If you do look at it make sure that you check the floor and stringers as they are wood. Like Mikey said if you are looking for something to wakeboard behind look for the Sunsport. If you like the idea of a small closed bow you would be better off looking for a Nautique 2001. They throw an awesome wake with 1000-1500 in ballast and down't feel scary low to the water.

02-11-2011, 03:24 PM